IONL Professional Recognition Committee:

  1. Selects and coordinates professional recognition activities for Outstanding Nurse Executive and Outstanding Nurse Leader.
  2. Selects and coordinates recognition for Innovation in Patient Care Award.
  3. Evaluates applications for financial assistance from the IONL scholarship fund.


  • Katie Heldt, Greene County Medical Center, Jefferson
  • Linda Whaley, Unity Point Healthy-Trinity, Ft Dodge
  • Brenda Dietiker, Winneshiek Medical Center
  • Sandy Byers, CHI-Mercy, Council Bluffs
  • Rachael Johnson, UnityPoint Health- Des Moines, Des Moines
  • Jacque Bookin-Nosbisch, Jefferson County Health Center, Fairfield
  • Sandi McIntosh, Unity Point Health - St. Luke's Hospital, Cedar Rapids
  • Emily Ward, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City 


IONL Education Committee:

  1. Provide educational opportunities for IONL members.
  2. Facilitate the development of nurse leaders through networking and mentoring.
  3. Identify educational needs of the membership through the use of surveys, feedback from district meetings and evaluations from previous programs.


  • Marlys VanOtterloo, Floyd Valley Healthcare, LeMars
  • Laura Zwiefel, Hancock County Health System, Britt
  • Hannah Porcic, Mercy Medical Center, Dubuque
  • Laura Juel, UnityPoint Health-Des Moines, Des Moines
  • Jill Zintz, Mercy Medical Center-Centerville, Centerville
  • Amy Berentes, Mercy Medical Center, Clinton
  • Rose Hedges, Unity Point Health-St. Lukes, Cedar Rapids

IONL Research Committee:

  1. Promotes the use of research and research process to evaluate the effectiveness of care delivery strategies and structures.
  2. Provides assistance to the Executive Board in conducting the annual practice survey.
  3. Develops opportunities for collaborative research.


  • Sherry Koehler, Briar Cliff University, Sioux City
  • Ronda Reimer, Franklin General Hospital, Hampton
  • Christina Fevold, UnityPoint Health-Trinity, Ft. Dodge
  • Karen Buman, Myrtue Medical Center, Harlan
  • Deb Moyer, UnityPoint Health- Des Moines, Des Moines
  • SheriDoggett, Mercy Medical Center-Centerville, Centerville
  • Amanda Wesson, Genesis Medical Center, Davenport


IONL Bylaws Committee:

  • To develop, review and revise the bylaws and rules and regulations of the organization.


  • Erin Muck, Crawford County Memorial Hospital,Denison
  • Michele Kelly, Buena Vista Regional Medical Center, Storm Lake
  • Deb Shriver, UnityPoint Health-Trinity, Ft. Dodge
  • Joanne Nathem, Waverly Health Center, Waverly
  • Sheryl Barnes, Mercy Medical Center, Des Moines
  • Deanna Cook, Unity Point Health - Jones Regional Medical Center, Anamosa