2018 IONL Innovation in Patient Care Award

The 2018 Innovation in Patient Care Award was presented to Carrie Van Houton and her team from UnityPoint Health-St Lukes, Cedar Rapids for their research on the use of relaxation and massage therapy as non-pharmacological treatment in elective joint replacement surgical patients.Nurses are always developing innovations and improving the quality of care in various ways. Sometimes innovative thinking helps one patient overcome a troublesome symptom. Other times, initiatives aimed at quality improvement and clinical practice innovation can benefit a multitude of patients system-wide.

The 2018 Innovations in Patient Care Award, sponsored by the Iowa Organization of Nurse Leaders, will honor nurses who are evaluating the scientific evidence, changing clinical practice and improving quality outcomes. 


2018 Outstanding Nurse Executive & Outstanding Nurse Leader

Katie Heldt (left), Chief Nursing Executive at Green County Medical Center is the 2018 IONL Outstanding Nurse Executive.

Dr. Kelley Blackburn (right), Director of  Clinical Professional Development at UnityPoint Health Des Moines is the 2018 IONL Outstanding Nurse Leader.

Click here to view previous Outstanding Nurse Executive winners

Click here to view previous Outstanding Nurse Leader winners

2018 Scholarship and Certification Scholarship Winners

Amanda Birelin (left), Chief Nursing Officer at Cass County Health System
in Atlantic

Jeana Wollmuth (right), Facility Educator Nursing Administration at Sanford Sheldon Medical Center 

Click here to view previous scholarship winners