About the Iowa Organization of Nurse Leaders

Since 1977, IONL has been the voice of nursing leaders throughout Iowa. IONL promotes excellence in leadership to shape the future of health care delivery, education and health policy. We are committed to fostering the development of nurse leaders across the continuum through mentorship, collaboration and education.

IONL Vision Statement

To be the voice of nursing leadership in Iowa.


IONL Mission Statement

To shape healthcare in Iowa through innovation, leadership expertise, professional development, education and advocacy.


IONL Membership Statement

The mission of the Iowa Organization of Nurse leaders is “to shape healthcare in Iowa through innovation, leadership expertise, professional development, education and advocacy.” For this reason, the organization seeks to engage nurse leaders across the broad continuum of nursing leadership roles and at every stage of their nursing careers, including emerging Nurse Leaders. Nurse Leaders are those who influence, improve and advocate for the health of others through a variety of roles and settings. The nursing leadership role may include the following positions; Executive leadership, Clinical Care Management, Staff Education, Development & Engagement, Case/Care Management, Information Technology, Academic Appointment, Quality & Data Analytics, Bedside Clinical Experts, Shift Leadership, and other traditional and nontraditional roles. The Nurse Leader role is defined by the actions, duties, responsibilities and accountabilities embodied in the role, rather than by title. As the healthcare environment is ever changing and evolving, so too is the role of the Nurse leader in adapting and responding to those changes.


2020 IONL Executive Board Members

Mary Jo Kavalier
Sartori Memorial Hospital
Cedar Falls

District B Board Member:
Kathy Swift
Surgical Clinical Specialist
Mercy Medical Center
Cedar Rapids

Ann Erickson
Acute Care Director
Greene County Medical Center

District C Board Member:
Jacque Bookin-Nosbisch
VP of Nursing
Jefferson County Health Center

President Elect:
Brenda Tiefenthaler
VP Patient Care/Informatics
Spencer Hospital

District C Board Member:
Open Position

Past President:
Deb Moyer
Chief Nurse Executive
UnityPoint Health - Des Moines
Des Moines

District D Board Member:
Karen Buman
Chief Nurse Executive
Myrtue Medical Center

District A Board Member:
Becky Stoltz
Quality Director
Spencer Hospital

District D Board Member:
Peggy Helget
VP/Chief Nursing Officer
Methodist Jennie Edmundson
Council Bluffs

District A Board Member:
Victor Bycroft
Chief Nursing Officer
Humboldt County Memorial Hospital

District E Board Member:
Bridget Drafahl
Nurse Manager
UnityPoint Health
Des Moines

District B Board Member:
Tara McEnany
Chief Nurse Officer
Buchanan County Health Center

District E Board Member:
Kelley Blackburn
Director, Clinical Professional Development
UnityPoint Health
Des Moines